Boob Boss: Your Breezy Guide to Self-Examination

Feeling anxious about breast screening? Let’s go through it together.

Stark Raving
4 min readNov 15, 2023

--

Photo by Victoria Strukovskaya on Unsplash

There are some parts of adulting that I don’t do out of laziness — like flossing my teeth or changing my windscreen wipers (I have learnt to live with the smears across the glass).

Some other parts of adulting I put off doing because they make me anxious. Like screening my boobies for lumps or other warning signs of breast cancer.

Our brains are weird. Checking our bodies regularly actually makes us safer, as we can detect changes early. Yet it feels scary because we are living happily, and by self-checking, we might reveal problems we didn’t know were there. That knowledge feels intimidating, but in reality, it allows us to take control of our own health.

I know this on a logical level, but I have long struggled to take the step of self-screening, so I wanted to write an article that would address not only how to do it but how to overcome the anxiety around the experience.

So, if you share the same struggles as me, let’s do this together. It’s not as scary as it seems.

Getting Started: Learning to Self-Screen

--

--

Stark Raving

Intersectional feminism and environmental issues. Let’s make the world a kinder, more sustainable place. Support my work! https://starkraving.medium.com/members