Forgiveness Is Overrated

It might not be a part of your healing journey.

Stark Raving
3 min readMar 17, 2022

--

Photo by Henri Pham on Unsplash

It is strange seeing the man who assaulted me posting feminist memes about consent on Facebook.

Of course, he will have changed. It's been over 10 years. We were fifteen when it happened. God knows I’ve changed since I was 15, every time I read my teenage diaries I cringe at how silly I was. I repeated the sexist things I had heard from adults in my life, taking them for the gospel. I obsessed over boys I was unable to talk two words to and got into stupid fights with friends, I made big unrealistic plans for my life and with far more diligence, staged elaborate pranks on my friends. I got drunk, got expelled from school, and made dozens of mistakes, including accidentally dying my hair green (it was supposed to be black) and wearing a cape for a year.

I was joyfully ridiculous.

I also never molested anyone.

“He was just a kid,” I tell myself, when I catch myself feeling angry at him.

“So was I,” comes the answer.

There are a lot of questions at play here. Do we have to forgive people their youthful mistakes? Doesn’t everyone deserve a second chance? Can we really hold people to the things they do when they are just kids?

--

--

Stark Raving

Intersectional feminism and environmental issues. Let’s make the world a kinder, more sustainable place. Support my work! https://starkraving.medium.com/members